h2.page-title{display:none;} --> //

About SnackDown

CodeChef’s SnackDown, is a multi round programming competition open to anyone with a knack for programming. Hosted by CodeChef, a non-profit educational initiative of Directi, a technology and web products company the competition was started in the year 2009 by Bhavin Turakhia, CEO of Directi and other members of his tech team.

The aim with SnackDown is to pit the finest computer programming brains from different parts of the globe under one roof. At CodeChef we believe that nothing succeeds like competition, and that’s what we are trying to do with SnackDown.

SnackDown had a humble beginning with the inaugural edition of SnackDown seeing participation from 639 teams of 3 members each taking part in the competition. Since then the contest has grown by leaps and bounds, with every edition triumphing its precursor in every department. Today, SnackDown is considered to be one of the most coveted onsite programming competition in the globe with participation from every part of the world.

If you can code, you can compete in SnackDown, so, if you are an aspiring competitive programmer or know someone who is, we would like to see you compete. So, what are you waiting for, join CodeChef and take the first plunge towards competing with the best. If you have any questions or queries regarding SnackDown or any aspect of it you can always reach to us at: [email protected].

  • The inaugural edition of CodeChef SnackDown was hosted back in 2009.
  • The first edition was a two round competition with 639 teams of 3 members each competing in the first round, with top 21 teams moving to the onsite finale, on January 10th 2010.
  • After the first edition, SnackDown went on a hiatus of 5 years, before making a comeback in a bigger avatar in 2015.
  • Participants of 92 countries have registered for CodeChef SnackDown till now.
  • SnackDown has seen participation by students/professionals from 2234 unique institutes/organisations/schools.
  • Participants have used 36 different programming languages to code their solutions in different rounds of SnackDown.
  • The most used programming language in SnackDown history is C++ 4.9.2 with a total of 11902 AC’s in the language.
  • The least used programming languages in SnackDown history are GO and F# with only 1 AC in either of the two.
  • No team has ever managed to solve all the problems in a SnackDown Finale.
  • The maximum number of problems solved by a team across all the rounds of SnackDown is 38. This feat was achieved by team sequoia of Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology, featuring Alexander Ostanin & Alexey Dmitriev.
  • The fastest submission made in a SnackDown Finale was made by team of Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv featuring Dmytro Ihnatenko in SnackDown 2015 Finale. They cracked their first problem in 396 seconds.
  • The fastest submission made in a SnackDown Elimination was made by team coderacers of Netaji Subhas Institute of Technology, New Delhi featuring ABHAY GARG & Aditya Jain in Online Elimination Round of Snackdown 2015. They cracked their first problem in 261 seconds.

Gennady korotkevich and Borys Minaiev of team pattern_avoid won the SnackDown 2016 Global Championship

Over 13000 teams have registered from 96 countries for the online qualification round. After multiple online rounds, 57 teams (includes top 25 Global, top 25 Indian, Girls’ team and Indian school team) were invited to Mumbai, India for the onsite finals. Below are the winners of various categories at the onsite finals.

SnackDown 2016 Champions

xuyinzhan and Apia Du of team aapppppppiii won the SnackDown 2015 Global Championship

Over 7500 teams have registered from 104 countries for the online qualification rounds. After multiple online rounds, 26 Indian teams (includes top 25 India and a top Indian school team) were flown down to Mumbai, India for the onsite finals. While at it the global teams were allowed to compete online. Below are the final winners of various categories.

SnackDown 2015 Champions

Yash, Nadeem Moidu, Kunal Jain won SnackDown 2010 Champion DreamSN

Over 600 teams have registered from various campuses in India during the online qualification round. After multiple online rounds, 7 Indian teams were flown down to Mumbai, India for the onsite finals.

SnackDown 2010 Champions